top of page

Madrid Days 3, 4, & 5


Hello everyone, glad your back here reading the blog, this should be my final blog about Madrid, and the last one of my 30 day trip in Europe this summer! I was thinking of making a high-lights of Europe post next, what do you think? This blog is about days three, four, and five (our last day), and how we spent them in Madrid, Spain.

Our third day in Spain, we felt a little unsure of what to do. Our hotel wanted lots of money for wifi, and we did not want to pay, so we walked to Gran Via street, and used the free wifi at Mcdonalds. Here's a Europe tip, there's usually a McD's everywhere, just like in the USA, and every place we went to except Rome. However, I think I previously mentioned it, but the McD's in Europe are so much fancier and they have wider selections. Typically they have seperate McCafe's attached to them. We got some cakes or something and coffee, and I looked for things to do. I stumbled upon a blog talking about the Buen Reitro park in Madrid, which means Park of Pleasant Retreat. In the post, they blogger described the park to being the Central Park of Europe. I have to say, it's honestly so much more, and way cooler than Central park in New York.

We walked towards the park, it is in the same direction as the Museo de Prado museum. Right before the park there is this large Arc, so of course being the tourist I am, and also thinking that I am such a great photographer, I had to stop to snap a picture of it!

To the right of the Arc a few feet back is the entrance to the park! I like to describe the park as an amusement park without the rides, It was amazing. While it may not be legal, individuals dress up as Mickey and Mini, and other characters and you can pay to take pictures with them, there are food stands with candy, icecream and popcorn. But what I thought was the coolest food aspect was the hidden restaurants, bonus! We spent most of our day exploring the park, and I would highly recommend spending at least a half-day! When you first walk in, there is of course, you guessed it, fountains!

There is so much to see and do, and so many paths to take, so just let loose and let the path take you, eventually you'll explore the entire park! I had a map on my phone, so I had more of a plan. We walked tour the large man-made lake (assumed) in the center of the park. So breath-taking. People were rowing boats in the center, and It was so hot I wanted to go for a swim, Ha!

If you walk around the lake, you can go to the statue across the way.

We sat for a little and enjoyed the shade. We then headed toward the "Glass House", which I was most excited to see! Well worth it! It is behind the lake a few yards and towards the right, the park has many signs so it is easy to naviagate!

I believe the inside was a museum dedicated to failed technology, as it had a representation of the Titanic, and the failed apartments in America, not to sure, but that was my best guess. It's free to enter, and it say a bathroom! Right outside of the glass house is a beautiful little lake, with I'm guessing a few hundred turtles, they were absolutely adorable!

And bonus, there was a small little cave you can go through to get to the other side of the little lake!

We then walked up Gran Via, looking for some souveniers!

We then went to eat at an American style restaurant, we were pretty home sick at this point! All I could think about was going home!

Our 4th day in Madrid, we ate breakfast at our hotel (everymorning, it was provided). We then packed some lunch and headed towards a outdoor food market I had seen near Plaza Mayor. We stopped and look, but honestly it was not enough close to the one we had seen in Barcelona.

We then set off for the Temple of Debod, which is an Egyptian pyramid that was donated by Egypt to Spain as a thank you gift. How cool is that? While we were in Europe we got to see an Egyptian pyramid! It was the furthest destination from our hotel. And you do have to go up a few stairs to get there, but nothing like the stairs we conqured to see the Gaudi benches, ha! The temple sits on a large hill, right near a childrens park. It seems so out of place! We rested for a while and ejoyed the view!

We then stopped by a super market on the way back to the hotel and cooked a great meal!

Another fountain on the way home!

We spent our last day in Europe and Madrid walking around the same areas, such as Gran Via, Plaza de sole, and Plaza Mayor. We stopped at the famous churros and chocolate place, and oh my god, it was amazing! We almost tried a street vendor, but I am so glad we waited! If you are in Madrid you have to stop by! We ended our last night in Madrid, and Europe, on Gran Via. It was the perfect ending, as it was the start of the gay pride parade in Spain. We caught the start of it, and it was in the wake of the Orlando Shooting, it was so sureal and just one of those moments I will forever remember. We watched the sun set over Gran Via, and we were so delighted to be going home, but also felt so strong, accomplished and proud of ourselves for making it 30 days in Europe!

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you enjoyed reading these blogs, I have more coming your way so just hang-on!

Side note:

I just wanted to say how thankful I am to everyone who was apart of why I could go on this trip, first my mother for telling me that I could go to college and helping me and supporting me along the way, especially during my last semester, second to my grandmother who also helped me with school, third, to all of my family and friends for your love and support, to everyone for their graduations gifts, without which I would have never been able to afford it, to Dani for helping me plan and being there for half of the way, to all of the great people we met and helped us along the way, and lastly to the love of my life, Jeff, thank you so much for being apart of this journey, with it's ups and downs, we truly grew so much! Also a huge thank you to everyone who has been reading my blogs and giving me such wonderful feed back, it has made it that much more special, thank you everyone! - Mariah


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page